What do you mean by Vegan?
Veganism is a term meaning ‘non-dairy vegetarianism’. The term ‘vegan’ was first used in England in the year 1944, by Donald Watson, who is also the co-founder of the Vegan Society.
The society was founded on 1st November which is now celebrated as Vegan Day. People following Veganism follow a strict vegetarian diet and refrain from the consumption of all dairy products as well as eggs.
In other words, veganism is ‘the doctrine that man should live without exploiting animals’. Vegans, in addition, do not use any animal products or by-products, be it honey, wool, leather, fur, silk or soaps and cosmetics manufactured using animal products.
What is Vegan Cheese?
Vegan Cheese is basically a non-dairy cheese. It is made from plant foods. This kind of cheese does not include rennet which is an extract from the stomach of animals, used in making cheese.